The McLaughlin Bros. Store operated at Seal Cove, Grand Manan Island, New Brunswick. The building was originally a warehouse owned by Peter Russell and used to store goods awaiting shipment from the nearby wharf. In the late 1880s or in 1890, Russell moved to St. Stephen, New Brunswick, and sold the building to his brothers Fred (1867-1950) and Clinton (1869-1948) McLaughlin. They operated a general store that sold everything “from castor oil to galvanized spikes”. From around 1920 to 1964, the store also housed the village post office.
Fred and Clinton McLaughlin handed the store on to Fred’s sons. Gerald (1896-1965) and Glenn McLaughlin. They, in turn, handed the store on to Gerald’s sons, John (b. 1934 ) and Gale McLaughlin. The company, then called Sea Co., closed due to fire on 18 February 1982 . The building was restored and turned into an Inn that reopened in 1990 under the ownership and management of Glenn’s daughter-in-law, Brenda McLaughlin.
The McLaughlin Wharf Inn continues to serve the local constituency and to provide a unique overnight experience in on of the most picturesque villages on the island.